



Coimbatore - 641 003

Concentration of the second of

Dr. M. Rajavel, Ph.D., Public Relations Officer Mobile: 94890 56730 Phone: 0422 - 6611302 Fax: 0422 - 2431821 E-mail: pro@tnau.ac.in

To Date: 18.07.2023

The Editor,

Sir.

I request that the following message may kindly be published in your esteemed daily:

## TNAU 112<sup>th</sup> MASU Day celebration

Madras Agricultural Students Union celebrated 112<sup>th</sup> MASU Foundation day on 14<sup>th</sup> July, 2023. The Century old evergreen "Madras Agricultural Students Union", a registered body of TNAU was constituted on July 14<sup>th</sup>, 1911 and registered as society during 1923. Professor Dr. R. Kannan, President (MASU) delivered the welcome address. Hon'ble Vice Chancellor (TNAU) and Chief Patron (MASU) Dr.V.Geethalakshmi delivered the Presidential address, in which she highlighted the history and founding motto of MASU. She also added on the success story of MASU 110 year publication Madras Agricultural Journal and encouraged the student community to publish and improve the standard of MAJ. Chief Patron appreciated the efforts of Executive Committee in re-establishing the MASU awards after a decade break.

Chief Guest Dr. B K Krishnaraj Vanavarayar, Chairman- Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, President - N.G.M College & KCT, in his chief guest address appreciated the efforts of the Union in continuously supporting the student community of TNAU and encouraged the young minds of TNAU to work for the betterment of the society and highlighted how a individual with a positive mindset can bring about extraordinary changes in lifes of people. He congratulated the award winners and students on the MASU award ceremony. Sixteen eminent scientist from various disciplines of Agriculture received the awards for their outstanding performance in the field of Agricultural research from the Chief Guest & Chief Patron (MASU). Student winners of various competitions from all the Constituet colleges of TNAU received prizes from the dignitaries. The event was followed by MASU General Body Meeting. Professor Dr.M. Murugan, Secretary (MASU) delivered the Vote of Thanks.